• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Replacing veneer on wood dashboard

laneriddle

Freshman Member
Country flag
The veneer on my Tr6 dashboard is cracked. I think I can peel or sand it off of the plywood backing and replace it with new.
I have some woodworking experience.
My inclination is to clamp and glue the new veneer on the plywood and then cut out the holes for the instruments and what have you.
Does this sound right?

Basil

Administrator
Staff member
Boss
Laneriddle, you have posted your question in the "forum help" section, which is really about asking questions related to the forum software (how to navigate the site, posting images, etc). I'm moving your post to the "Restoration and Tools" forum, which is a more relevant forum for your question. If you are reading this now, you are in that forum. I'll leave a "pointer" in the Forum Help forum that will direct people to your thread.

Basil

Bayless

Yoda
Silver
Country flag
If the dash is flat that would be a good way. If the instruments are recessed like a Jaguar then you can't. It is not easy to veneer a large piece like that either. You need another matching piece usually to apply even pressure as well as several clamps. Be careful if you sand to old veneer off so as to keep the surface perfectly flat too.

Popeye

Darth Vader
Silver