• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

First ride in LBC

pdplot

Yoda
Country flag
What was the first time you rode in a British sports car?
Mine was 1954 when I was a student in Philadelphia. I had attended the 1953 Bridgehampton road race with a fraternity brother who lived in Elmira, NY and had seen the Watkins Glen races the year before. Next Spring, I was driving my 1952 Ford on the road to Conshohocken, PA when an MG TC passed me. I gave chase but was unable to keep up. A couple of nights later, I was reading the auto section of the Inquirer or the Bulletin and saw an ad for a 1951 MG TD at Pletcher Motor Co., a downtown Ford dealer. Saturday found me down at the dealer and turned on by the gleaming black TD on the showroom floor. I took it out for a test ride and that did it - I HAD to have that car. I asked the salesman how much and after thinking he said "I'll give you an even swap". I almost fell over but I played it cool and that night, I became an LBC owner for the first time. Then followed a white Mark II TD, a new BRG TR3 that I raced, a blue 1957 Porsche coupe, a white Twin Cam MG (now in Australia), and after a number of years, another rusty TD that I restored and painted green, a maroon 1979 Datsun 280 ZX, and in 1995, I towed home a red '71 TR6 that I restored and still have and l