• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR2/3/3A Frame off vs. body on restoration

Suncoaster

Country flag
Hi all,

My 1959 TR3A is due to begin restoration next month. I have been buying parts that I know will be needed for the last 5 or 6 months whenever one of “the big three” (plus Rimmers) had some of the needed items on sale.

The intention is to have the car restored to a “nice driver” level, as opposed to show quality, since I plan to use the car with some frequency during the nicer months here in East Texas. My dad bought the car with 2800 miles on it in December of 1959 when I had just turned 16. (It still had the “nubs” on the Dunlop tires.)

My question for the board is this: Would I get a better overall result by going ahead and paying the extra $ for a frame off restoration as opposed to having the resto shop do the work with the body (at least most of it) still on the car? They will be removing the apron and bonnet in either case in order to r&r the radiator, engine & transmission. The steering & front suspension will also be renewed. The wings and doors will also probably be r&r’d in either case.