• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Adjusting Valve Clearance

AUSMHLY

Obi Wan
Country flag
Hello. This is my first attempt at adjusting the valves.

The shop manual states use of a .012 gauge, screwdriver and wrench, but does not mention how to get the valves in the positions needed.

1) What's the best/easiest way. I've used the starter solenoid, but it's a or miss knowing if the valve is in it's lowest position.

Per Youtube, some car manuals state there is an order of which valves to adjust.

2) Is there a valve adjustment order for the Healey?

3) Can two valves be adjusted at the same time? Example, when adjusting valve #1, valve #12 should be in it's lowest position. I noticed valve #10 seemed to be in it's lowest position at the same time too. Was it? If so then I could adjust valve #3 at the same time?

Anything else I should be aware of?

Last edited:

steveg

Yoda
Gold
Country flag
Thoughts:
--if you remove the plugs and have the stock generator, you can turn the engine over by hand using a wrench on the generator nut while pressing down on the fan belt.
--you can divide a circle in sixths and make a timing disc (photo). You can google an image for a circle divided into sixths.