• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR4/4A Rear end questions

Rut

Obi Wan
Country flag
I’m in the process of cleaning up the TAs, hubs, and diff from a TR6 in preparation of possibly using them in my 67 TR4a restoration. I also wanted to use these extra parts to learn on since this is my first time. The TAs are stripped and the bushings removed and some of the hub mounting studs need attention. My plan is to blast the TAs and clear coat them. The bearings and U joints are extremely smooth which really surprised me considering the surface rust, but there’s absolutely no slop. The diff has been partially disassembled and the pinion nut marked and removed so I can replace the pinion seal. I’ll check the preload (15-18 in lbs) on assembly, but would that change with a new pinion seal and would you feel safe putting the nut back in the marked position or would you go with preload? The diff was smooth before I started and should be good to go with a new seal. Is my idea of using these TR6 parts on my 4a off base?
Thanks, Rut

bobhustead

Gold
Country flag