• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Heavy Tapping low in the Engine

RAC68

Darth Vader
Hi All,

A friend has just learned that the knocking within his '67 BJ8 P2 engine could be caused by a warn connecting rod bearing. This is an area I have little experience and would like suggestions on how to identify the faulty connecting rod bearing (if that is what it turns out to be) and how to correct the issue without removing the engine and/or entering into a full engine rebuilding.

To locate the knocking/ticking noise, a stethoscope was placed along the valve cover showing no good indication that the noise was emanating from the Valve Train. However, a stronger indication seem to indicate that the sound was emanating from the lower end of the engine block in the area of the cam or crank shaft. So, what could create a knocking noise in a regular rhythm within that space?