Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: "New" Logan Lathe

Discuss general restoration and car care topics (paint & body, upholstery, woodworking, etc) as well as tools.

  1. #1
    Luke Skywalker
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Strafford, NH
    Posts
    1,767
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    10
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    18
    Thanked in
    18 Posts

    "New" Logan Lathe

    I just got this Logan model 200 Lathe. It's from the 1950's as far as I can tell. I had to disassemble parts of it to get it moved onto my trailer, including the switch and motor. The motor is a 1/2 horse Walker Turner "Driver" that is listed as 110/220 on the ID plate. The PO said that it was 110 but when I went to plug it in, I found a 15 amp 220 plug on the cord. I do have 240 service in the garage, but no outlet where the lathe is. So the question is, should I make an extension cord or just change the plug on the lathe until I can put a 220 line to it. Right now I'd just like to see if the motor and switch work. Do I need to change anything on the motor to switch voltage.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    1960 TR3A TS73117 (under endless restoration, owned since 1964)
    1959 TR3A TS58023 (in case I never finish the one above)
    1969 Triumph Herald 13/60 (a whim)
    1970 Lotus Elan Plus 2 /0023/N
    1992 BMW325IC (fun to drive)

  2. #2
    Yoda
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Santee, Ca
    Posts
    3,031
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Re: "New" Logan Lathe

    Tom
    Don't let the smoke out of the motor!!
    If you don't know too much about the motor wiring then find someone who does.
    On something of that age you will probably need to open up the coverplate on the motor and change wire positions for the two voltages- there are often some specs printed on the cover.
    Be careful! That thing will be fun when it is running!!
    Bill
    '69 Sprite Mk IV
    '60 MGA
    '65 Midget

  3. #3
    Great Pumpkin TR3driver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sunny So California
    Posts
    19,552
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    8
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    138
    Thanked in
    129 Posts

    Re: "New" Logan Lathe

    +1 Got to change the wiring at the motor to run on 110. Basically there will be two windings that are in series for 220 operation, but parallel for 110.
    Sometimes the start winding also has to be changed, but often not.
    If the info isn't inside the plate, try Google.

  4. #4
    Jedi Trainee
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Northern VA, USA
    Posts
    242
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    12
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Re: "New" Logan Lathe

    I have several 240V tools , including a couple of dual-voltage motors. You can easily make up a 240V extension cord. All the parts are available at your local HD or Lowe’s. There’s a chart on line that will tell you what gauge wire you need based on HP rating vs length of run, but with a half-horse motor it won’t be too thick.

    There will be a plate where the wires go into the motor. Either on the front of it or the rear after you open it up will be a wiring diagram and the wires should either be color coded or have numbers on them with which ones should be connected together for 120V or 240V. If there was a 240V plug on it, it’s probably already 240. Why would he tell you otherwise? But, I have smoked a motor, so good to check.

  5. #5
    Luke Skywalker
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Strafford, NH
    Posts
    1,767
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    10
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    18
    Thanked in
    18 Posts

    Re: "New" Logan Lathe

    Thanks for the replies. Jim, I can easily make a 240 adapter but don't dare to try it unless I'm sure it's 240. PO could have changed the outlet to fit the plug. I did find the diagram on the cover plate. Not much help with the rats nest of wires jammed inside. No connectors just wires twisted and soldered together and covered with friction tape. Color traces remain but very indistinct. The first pair I pulled on broke apart. Looks like I need to start from scratch as I can see no way to tell what goes where. Wish I'd tested the outlet it was plugged into at the POs shop but on the other hand, it is very much in need of rewiring. I don't know what else it needs but it did run and was relatively quiet so I'm hoping for the best.
    Tom
    1960 TR3A TS73117 (under endless restoration, owned since 1964)
    1959 TR3A TS58023 (in case I never finish the one above)
    1969 Triumph Herald 13/60 (a whim)
    1970 Lotus Elan Plus 2 /0023/N
    1992 BMW325IC (fun to drive)

  6. #6
    Jedi Trainee
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Rochester N.H. 03867
    Posts
    229
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Re: "New" Logan Lathe

    I dunno Tom, Your garage is getting pretty full, I can see a time when you won't get any cars in there.
    1961 Sunbeam Harrington
    1969 MGC 1979 Triumph Spitfire (Sabrina)
    1968 Austin 3 Litre
    2004 Jaguar X-Type
    1967 Rover 2000 TC

  7. #7
    Luke Skywalker
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Strafford, NH
    Posts
    1,767
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    10
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    18
    Thanked in
    18 Posts

    Re: "New" Logan Lathe

    Quote Originally Posted by number6 View Post
    I dunno Tom, Your garage is getting pretty full, I can see a time when you won't get any cars in there.
    Too much of a good thing I guess. Plan was to move the press and lathe into the basement with the rest of the stuff but I still need to get the car out of there first.
    Tom
    1960 TR3A TS73117 (under endless restoration, owned since 1964)
    1959 TR3A TS58023 (in case I never finish the one above)
    1969 Triumph Herald 13/60 (a whim)
    1970 Lotus Elan Plus 2 /0023/N
    1992 BMW325IC (fun to drive)

  8. #8
    Jedi Trainee
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Northern VA, USA
    Posts
    242
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    12
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Re: "New" Logan Lathe

    Boy, it would be hugely irresponsible to run 240v connectors on a 120v circuit. NEC and all. Might it be a high amperage 115v connector?
    hey, so the woodworking machinery version of our BCF is www.owwm.org. Didn’t you say your motor is a Walker Turner? My lathe is too, though not the motor. Do a search there or ask for help in the color coding of old WT motors. OWWM users love WTs!

  9. #9
    Obi Wan coldplugs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Central Maine
    Posts
    2,495
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Re: "New" Logan Lathe

    Looks like a perfect size - nice lathe. Maybe contact the previous owner re the voltage?

  10. #10
    Great Pumpkin DrEntropy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Elsinore, DK
    Posts
    33,433
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    61
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    82
    Thanked in
    81 Posts

    Re: "New" Logan Lathe

    I'd be jealous if I had space for that. Alas...
    '64 MGB, '67 Lotus Elan S-3 DHC,'69 Lotus Elan +2
    '78 Alfa Romeo Spider-undergoing surgery: O=\*/=O
    '84 300D Turbo-"Diesela"-Now my Daily: Oo|≣|oO
    '02 Toyota Camry- SWMBO's 'new-to-her' Daily. <sigh>
    Chaos & Mayhem PTY, LTD..C.I.O. & Floor Sweepervisor

  11. #11
    Darth Vader Bayless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    2,678
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    16
    Thanked in
    16 Posts

    Re: "New" Logan Lathe

    Me too.
    Was Man nicht im Kopf hat muss Man in den Beinen haben
    '48 Ford Prefect
    '67 Sprite (project)
    '74 Super Beetle
    http://enfoprefect.org

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •