• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Distributor Timing

ltcrainman

Freshman Member
OK folks a true novice here.

Distributor popped out of the block as it had not been properly tightened by the previous owner I suppose. I cleaned it and replaced the points & condenser. Now I need to put it back in and lock it down. I need very simple instructions on how to do this. Pictures would be nice.

Car is a '69 MK IV with a 1275 and Lucas Distributor. Here are photos before I replaced points and all.
69AHMK4 - Distributor 04.jpg69AHMK4 - Distributor 05.jpg

Thanks in advance for the assist.

Ray

dklawson

Yoda
The dizzy should only go in "one way". The drive dog on its bottom and the mating drive gear have an offset slot to prevent putting it in the "wrong way".

That said, putting the dizzy in is only part of what is required. You need to static time the distributor. Rather than go into a long explanation here, please see my online storage space. Near the bottom of the page linked below you will see a PDF that discusses how to static time your engine.
https://www.sites.google.com/site/purlawson/home/files

After you have the static timing set you can drive it as is or use a timing light to dial in the dynamic timing.