Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: "Vents" on a new battery?

Discussions of MG Sports Cars

  1. #1
    Jedi Hopeful Flash_Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    137
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    "Vents" on a new battery?

    Went out to start our '74 GT one day, and the alternator light went out as soon as I turned the key to start. Only about a week of not being driven, with the battery cut-off activated. So I put it on charge for several hours, and on trying to start all I got was rapid clicking from the relay that serves as a cut-off. When the battery was pulled out, it was wearing a sticker "January 2008", almost a year before I bought the car.

    Decided to replace it with a Westco battery, which fits in the plastic battery bin with almost too much room. Now starts with authority, even on cold days.

    The battery has what look like two vent tubes on the top. Nothing is mentioned in the instructions about this. Anyone have experience with this?

    Harry
    "The best laid plans of mice and men gang aft agley!"
    Robbie Burns

    I had an Alvis once, but sold it...
    (and now I have a '74 B-GT!)

  2. #2
    Obi Wan Sarastro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Long Beach, California
    Posts
    2,353
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    9
    Thanked in
    9 Posts

    Re: "Vents" on a new battery?

    Is this what you're referring to?

    https://www.mossmiata.com/Shop/ViewP...FYdgfgodf8QD7g

    It looks like there is a single piece that covers the cells' access holes, and those are vents for them. If so, I don't see any need to do anything with them.
    Steve Maas
    1966 Triumph TR4A, undergoing restoration: http://www.nonlintec.com/tr4a
    1952 MG TD, restoration completed 2014, sold 2016: http://www.nonlintec.com/mgtd
    1960 Austin-Healey "Bugeye" Sprite, sold 2010: http://www.nonlintec.com/sprite
    1967 Porsche 912: http://www.nonlintec.com/porsche

  3. #3
    Jedi Hopeful Flash_Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    137
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Re: "Vents" on a new battery?

    Steve,
    Yep, that's them! I wasn't sure whether to put some tubing on them and lead them out of the bin. Maybe I'll just let them alone, as you suggest.
    Thanks,
    Harry
    "The best laid plans of mice and men gang aft agley!"
    Robbie Burns

    I had an Alvis once, but sold it...
    (and now I have a '74 B-GT!)

  4. #4
    Moderator drooartz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    10,779
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

    Re: "Vents" on a new battery?

    I put a Westco Miata battery in my old MGB. I didn't do anything special with those vents.
    Drew Frink
    '59 RHD Frogeye Sprite - "Penny" sleeping for now
    '66 RHD Morris Minor - "Maggie" awaiting a non-cracked transmission
    '70 RHD MGB - awaiting a donor engine
    '19 Triumph Bonneville T100 - good to have one that runs

  5. #5
    Obi Wan Sarastro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Long Beach, California
    Posts
    2,353
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    9
    Thanked in
    9 Posts

    Re: "Vents" on a new battery?

    I don't know why the battery manufacturers do things that way. Back in the Dark Ages, when I was young, batteries had a single cap for each cell, with a pinhole to let out any gasses that evolved from the cell. Then, they went to two caps that covered three cells each. Now, it's one cap for all six cells. There has to be some way to let them breathe; a pinhole or two would be enough, but maybe there's a concern that a small hole on top might get plugged. At least this way you can't drop a cap and have it roll into an inaccessible spot under the workbench.
    Steve Maas
    1966 Triumph TR4A, undergoing restoration: http://www.nonlintec.com/tr4a
    1952 MG TD, restoration completed 2014, sold 2016: http://www.nonlintec.com/mgtd
    1960 Austin-Healey "Bugeye" Sprite, sold 2010: http://www.nonlintec.com/sprite
    1967 Porsche 912: http://www.nonlintec.com/porsche

  6. #6
    Yoda PAUL161's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Locust Grove, Oklahoma
    Posts
    9,499
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    46
    Thanked in
    43 Posts

    Re: "Vents" on a new battery?

    Cost to manufacture one long cap is probably a lot less than 6 small ones. Things like that are usually a cost issue. PJ

    Remember, Never Forget
    We Live In The Land of The Free
    Because of The Brave

    How good it feels, the hand of an old friend! Longfellow

  7. #7
    Jedi Trainee Merlin63Tr4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Milpitas, CA. U.S.A.
    Posts
    260
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    4
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Re: "Vents" on a new battery?

    Or, like in both my Volvo and BMW, the battery is in the trunk and there is a concern for an accumulation of hydrogen gas in that enclosed space.
    So a vent hose is attached to the nipple on the battery to vent the gasses overboard.

    M.
    Merlin the '63 Tr4.... it grows younger !

    "A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools." -- Douglas Noel Adams (1952-2001)

  8. #8
    Freshman Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Re: "Vents" on a new battery?

    Yes, those are for venting out of an enclosed space like a trunk. My 1998 Z3 has a battery like that. Also vents acid out if it's overfilled or overflows for some reason.

  9. #9
    Jedi Trainee Joe Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    396
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Re: "Vents" on a new battery?

    Assuming your battery is in the original location, it's vented plenty well If you've added a battery bin you might want to add the vent tube IF your bin is well sealed up. The holes where the cable run would probably be plenty of venting unless you've sealed those. The other option instead of adding a tube would be to just put a hole or two in the bin to provide that ventilation.

    I ended up trimming the very top off my bin. It was thick enough on that top lip to make it difficult to fasten the battery cover. That trimming also provided plenty of ventilation.

    Joe Reed - Brooklands Green '78

  10. #10
    Jedi Hopeful Flash_Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    137
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Re: "Vents" on a new battery?

    Joe,
    Thanks, I do have the bins, and there should be enough air dragged through the holes for the cables. I'm thinking I will leave well-enough alone and forget about adding tubing.
    "The best laid plans of mice and men gang aft agley!"
    Robbie Burns

    I had an Alvis once, but sold it...
    (and now I have a '74 B-GT!)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •