PDA

View Full Version : Wedge What's wrong with this Pic?



DNK
08-07-2013, 08:47 AM
My friend Huw posted this on F'book

https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/1150576_10201787536469444_1209362042_o.jpg

MarshgrassA
08-07-2013, 09:38 AM
If that is the fuel float out of a wedge I am glad I have a TR4A.

Gliderman8
08-07-2013, 10:07 AM
Pill bottle?

Mickey Richaud
08-07-2013, 10:08 AM
Pretty ingenious, actually!

LarryK
08-07-2013, 10:13 AM
Not worried about the interaction of fuel and plastic? Imagine that melted and heading for your fuel pump and multiple carbs.

Andrew Mace
08-07-2013, 10:24 AM
Weren't all the "Wedge" fuel sender floats plastic? Most certainly are nowadays...but maybe not "prescription-grade" plastic. :D

M_Pied_Lourd
08-07-2013, 12:26 PM
Better than the one that I saw that had the champagne corks attached to it :-) Cheers Tush

TR3driver
08-07-2013, 01:51 PM
Not worried about the interaction of fuel and plastic? Imagine that melted and heading for your fuel pump and multiple carbs.
That would be my concern too. However, I've tested some of my own pill bottles, and whatever plastic they are made of seems impervious to gasoline, oil, ethanol, carb cleaner, etc.

Getting an air-tight seal with the original lid can be tricky, too. I have to add O-rings to mine or they leak.

DNK
08-07-2013, 02:44 PM
Radall- I don't even want to know what you are hiding in pill bottles in your tank

George_H
08-07-2013, 05:09 PM
I"ll bet that pill bottle will last longer than some of the aftermarket junk!

TR3driver
08-07-2013, 07:47 PM
Radall- I don't even want to know what you are hiding in pill bottles in your tank
Oh, it's nothing illicit, as far as you know :)

I use them to store my pre-measured doses of lead substitute and upper cylinder lube.

On a side note, I saw a TR3 once that had the spare tire door puttied into place and painted over, then a hatch cut in the floor of the trunk. The owner had picked it up at a Customs auction, though, so I guess they figured that one out :)

TR6BobNF
08-08-2013, 10:27 PM
Lorazepam definitely will not work in a TR if installed like that. :eagerness:
Cheers,

AngliaGT
08-10-2013, 02:01 AM
Don,

You have friends? I do - but I need to send them a check
every month.

- Doug