PDA

View Full Version : TR6 74 1/2 tr6 idle and vacuum

Coyote1
06-02-2012, 04:07 PM
I've reached the point that I need some help. The motor starts cold/no choke/ and idles at 850. Vacuum is 14. After a good warm up the idle and vacuum begin to drop and it runs rough until it stalls. I have adjusted the carbs and checked for leaks without success. I am thinking about going to different carbs. This is a recent rebuild so I'm only learning the hows and whys. Any thoughts?

TR3driver
06-02-2012, 04:37 PM
I'm not much help, but it sounds like it is running rich for some reason. It shouldn't start easily with no choke.

I assume you have the carbs set full lean and have verified that the "enrichment valves" (aka chokes) are all the way off and aren't leaking. On a 74 I believe the cable has to actually push the lever to close the valve.

Might be worth checking that the mixture adjustment actually moved the needle. The adjustment screw is only held down by a spring clip, and I have heard of the clip moving upwards if the needle carrier is tight in the piston. Sometimes the hex inside the screw strips and you can't tell that the screw is not turning with the wrench.

Since you say it's a fresh rebuild, I would also double-check the valve timing. Having it off by a tooth can make the engine run very rich. Valve lash will also affect mixture (although to a lesser extent).

Fuel pressure on the high side can sometimes show up worse as the engine warms up. Hot fuel is less dense, so there is less force available from the floats to hold the float valve closed against the fuel pressure.

Float bowl vents all hooked up correctly? Can't think of anything else offhand.

poolboy
06-02-2012, 09:39 PM
With the air cleaner housing removed so you can see inside the carb's mouth, is there gasoline puddled up when the engine stalls ?

Coyote1
06-03-2012, 01:06 AM