PDA

View Full Version : Ebay photo question

JPSmit
10-15-2011, 06:41 AM
Is there an easy way to pull pictures off ebay? Every once in awhile there is a car that I want pictures of for reference. I use XP and normally if I right click the picture, it says "save picture as" This is not the case with ebay. I have a nice little program called faststone capture - works great but it is time consuming to cut, save each picture. I'm really just being lazy here I know but if there is a timesaver out there that would be awesome!

Basil
10-15-2011, 09:29 AM
Well, you could do a screen print, then use a program like Photoshop to "crop" the picture.

DrEntropy
10-15-2011, 09:35 AM
And y'all know, now there's a GIMP version for Winblows.

coldplugs
10-15-2011, 10:40 AM
I've been using Gadwin PrintScreen for several years. You can set it up to take a screen shot of an area you select and it will save it in the format you want (jpg etc). It has lots of config options and it's free. ( www.gadwin.com (https://www.gadwin.com) , option to download is at lower right).

Nunyas
10-15-2011, 11:21 AM
And y'all know, now there's a GIMP version for Winblows. and Mac these days...

JodyFKerr
10-15-2011, 11:32 AM
GIMP & Photoshop to manage a few pictures is like using a howitzer to go squirrel hunting: total overkill.

In the "free" software realm I've found that Picasa from Google solves 98% of my needs for online photo posting.

In a pinch windows users can use Paint. It's not elegant, but it works.

Basil
10-15-2011, 01:49 PM
With my iMac I use a free utility called Grabber - capture entire screen, a specific window or selected area.

NutmegCT
10-15-2011, 05:43 PM
JP - for me, a screenprint isn't usually the same high res as the original picture on the ebay page. In some ads, ebay has "hidden" the picture name within the html code of the page; some people were "borrowing" pictures of things they don't have, for nefarious purposes.

So ... I just find the "hidden" picture name on the page.