PDA

View Full Version : TR6 tr6 76 hazard flasher...not



Woodie
05-22-2011, 08:22 PM
My 76 tr6 is new to me (3 Days). The hazard lights do not work. The turn signals do. If i pull out the hazard switch in the dash nothing happens.

Where is the flasher for these lights. The PO said they used to work and he never disconnected them, as he does not know where the flasher is. I changed the turn signal flasher when I bought the car to get them working.

If possible a picture of what it looks like and where would be much appreciated.

Thanks

poolboy
05-22-2011, 08:50 PM
Can you spot it in this picture ? Round, 2 wires, just forward of the fuse box and the last thing before the wheel well arch.
Lucas flashers were not round though, but like a match box. This one is a universal Heavy Duty replacement
https://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee300/poolboy_album/100_0027.jpg

TR6BobNF
05-22-2011, 09:03 PM
Woodie:
The hazard flasher is inside the car, on the bulkhead end panel adjacent to (and above right of)the passenger's feet and retained by a clip. To remove the unit pull from from the clip and detach the Lucar connectors. This is taken from the Haynes manual and is correct for my '76. I believe the previous post refers to the signal flasher.
Cheers,
Bob

TR6BobNF
05-22-2011, 09:08 PM
Poolboy:
Nice setup! Triple Webers, roller rockers, HD dual valve springs (?), header & Optima battery - top notch. Any more pics?
Bob

poolboy
05-22-2011, 09:45 PM
Thanks, Bob !
Maybe they switched positions, Bob, but the 73 and 74 have the hazard next to the fuse box and the turn indicator flasher in the passenger's footwell.
I have a 76, but it's pretty well gutted of electical components.
I'll PM you some picture's but I have triple ZS carbs for the engine in the picture..

DNK
05-22-2011, 10:56 PM
Bob, the flasher you speak is the turn signal flasher

hondo402000
05-23-2011, 05:44 AM
I a
Always read in dan masters book that the hazard flasher unit is in the engine compartment,and a turnsignal flasher unit Is in the passenger foot well, and will not work in place of a hazard flasher.

you must order the correct unit from one of our suppliers, I just went thru the same process, also check the hazard switch to make sure it works, since they are rairly used they tend to corrode

Hondo

Lewis_McDorman
05-23-2011, 06:48 AM
I think I'm correct in saying that the hazards only work with the ignition on?

RomanH
05-23-2011, 07:09 AM
No, the hazards must work at all times. It is the turn signals that only work with the ignition on.