PDA

View Full Version : New Member

JW
11-24-2001, 10:15 PM
Hello everyone,
This is my first posting. I have a small collection of British sports cars. 52 MG TD, 57 Austin healey 100-6 (w/Ford 260 v8 conversion), 66 Jaguar E Type FHC, and a 71 MG Midget. I have been collecting British sports cars for almost 30 years. I have mostly purchased cars that have needed cosmetic restoration rather than mechanical. Since I work in an auto body repair
shop, this has worked out well for me. I have been involved in other pursuits for the last several years, and am just getting involved again in sports cars. If any one has any questions that I can help them with, I am eager to help.

Sincerely, Jeff Williams

JW
11-26-2001, 03:05 AM
OK. Here is the story on my E type. I purchased the car in April of this year from a friend that sells classic and special interest cars. He told me the milage on the odometer(73K)is correct. The car was purchased new in Los Angeles. I am, according to my friend, the 3rd owner. The second owner had the car painted black in 1968. The original color was a silver blue metallic (like Basils' car). The seats have been reupholstered in nagahide. Other than the above mentioned changes, replacement of parts for maintainance and repairs the car is in original condition. It appeared to have the original "double v" belt driving the alternator and water pump! Even some of the vacuum brake lines and cooling system hoses were the originals. Of course since these rubber parts were 36 years old they started to deteriorate as I began driving the car. I have since replaced the hoses and the belt. The latest part to fail has been the steering column bushings. I will be installing new ones next week. This car runs very strong and looks great. I hope to make it to several British Car shows next year. I do have a few more photos. I can email them if your interested. P.S. The reason the paint looks so good. It's hand rubbed nitrocellulose laquer. graemlins/cheers.gif JW