PDA

View Full Version : I got New Lug Nuts...



pjsmetana
03-25-2010, 07:26 PM
A full set of chrome lug nuts and washers arrived from Spitbits today. When I pulled my old ones off, there was only 2 that were stripped out. My wheel studs are shiny and new. Granted, the pic here don't show that, because the color is all from the old lug nuts. I took a rag to them and they were shiny. I did have to take a scribe to the 2 spots where the lugs were stripped.

Theres a problem with the new lug nuts though. Not all of them, just 2 out of the whole set. The 1st of the 2 never grabbed the wheel stud and acted like it stripped like the old lugs that stripped. I never left any metal on the stud though, which leads me to believe it was already boogered up. The 2nd of the 2 messed up came rusted. A little rust on the exterior, which bothers me a lot as this is my show car, but even worse than that is that there is a LOT of rust on the inside. I wire bushed it, sprayed WD40 in it, cleaned it, brushed it again, and so fourth, but I could never get it on the wheel stud.

I sent an email to Spitbits about this, but its after hours so I don't expect to hear anything until tomorrow.

My question is, is this normal? I mean, these lug nuts feel like they have superior strength over OEM, and they look really good, but as far as Spitbits goes I mean... is this normal for them? This was my 1st time ordering from them, and I can't say I'm happy, but I can't complain with the price either.

Also, what do I torque these to? I haven't cranked on them really hard yet as I don't want to over do it. So far I've only put them on with a ratchet and 18mm socket.

Aft, Port side. Right after I took the wheel off. The metal from the old lugs that stripped came off easily with a scribe.
https://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j293/pjsmetana/SU1BRzAwNDYuanBn.jpg

pjsmetana
03-25-2010, 07:28 PM
Yes, my car has its own carpet. I treat it well so it treats me well :P

Andrew Mace
03-25-2010, 07:48 PM
My question is, is this normal? I mean, these lug nuts feel like they have superior strength over OEM, and they look really good, but as far as Spitbits goes I mean... is this normal for them? This was my 1st time ordering from them, and I can't say I'm happy, but I can't complain with the price either.
I doubt it's normal. Do they appear to be pretty much the same construction as original (chromed)? I've not bought all that much from them, but everything I've gotten has been OEM or top quality equivalent.

Also, what do I torque these to?38-42 lbs.ft. is the spec. I have for the earlier lug nuts, and I imagine these would be pretty much in that ballpark.

So far I've only put them on with a ratchet and 18mm socket.Actually, an 11/16 socket would be even better!

pjsmetana
03-25-2010, 07:57 PM
They are definitely not OEM, as these have a notch that the stock ones do not.

Roger the 11/16th, and thank you very much for the torque value!

BTW Andy, where do you find this stuff? I have the Service Manual, and its not in there.

Andrew Mace
03-25-2010, 08:29 PM
Well, Pete, I couldn't find my old Bentley reprint with the MkIV/early 1500 stuff, so I used the figure in the factory Herald 1200 / 13/60 / Spitfire [through Mk3) / Vitesse 6 manual. I honestly don't know if it's in the factory MkIV Manual, since the one I got many years ago seems to be missing some pages (although I'm not sure which ones are missing). In the Herald, et. al. manual, there's a torque spec's table near the end of "Group 0" -- which has all sorts of general specifications. If I find my Bentley reprint (I really MUST get organized again...someday....), I'll look and see if it's in there. :wink:

pjsmetana
03-26-2010, 11:21 AM
Spitbits responded already. They are sending 2 replacements. This is great, as I know they only work 1/2 days on Friday and I really did not expect to hear anything until Monday.