PDA

View Full Version : TR4/4A looking to purchase 1965 TR4A have a few questions

AK_ED
02-17-2010, 01:38 PM
Hello
New to the forum and hope to be a part of your comunuity

My name is Ed and im looking at purchasing a 65 TR4A, and my background is german cars, i have a couple of classic porsches and looking for a british car.the TR4, its green newer soft top, runs and drives usable interior as stated by the current owner. he tells me he has records from around the late 60s to current. im looking for the knowledge of you guys out there as im not sure where to focus when i go look at this car. i have done restos on old series rovers and know my way around the electrical and the carbs of the britt stuff.

i have seen pics of the car and it looks good in pics but going to look at it this weekend.

questions

1. is there areas of the car to pay attention to that are prone to rust,
2. is there areas on the frame that crack rust etc.
3. door gaps i have read that body mounts worn will make them uneven?
4. is there items known to these cars specific that are troublesome.

thanks guys and hope to be posting here more often with a new car to play with.

cheers ed

tdskip
02-17-2010, 01:59 PM
Hi Ed - welcome!

Body / frame condition is the thing to watch. Mechanical bits and trim are all readily available with a choice of suppliers.

Look at front and rear fender bottoms, especially at the front since if those are iffy there will me rust in the rocker section that cover. Floors are usually at risk, as is the rear deck where the rear fenders met the cockpit area. Battery tray in engine bays typically go. In the engine compartment look at the inner fenders near where the fuses are as well.

Door gap can range from easily adjusted to indicating that the sills / structure is rotten. Gaps should be consistent but body fit on these cars isn't in Mercedes or BMW precision or a tight.

Rear of frames near the rear suspension can be a rust spot, check everything but start there.