PDA

View Full Version : How does my rear end look?

Tabcon
12-08-2009, 10:07 PM
After watching the British pound soar and the price of an LSD for my rear end do the same, I decided to wait on one and go ahead with the rebuild of my differential. I did install the 4.1:1 crown and pinion though.

As this is my first attempt at rebuilding a rear end, it would be helpful if you guys could look at the following pics and let me know if the mesh looks alright. It's a little bass ackwards as the white craft paint I used seemed to spread to the bottom of the teeth and the actual contact area is almost paint free.

I hope it's okay because I really do not want to take it apart AGAIN!

LOL

https://i779.photobucket.com/albums/yy77/Tabcon1/Crown-2.jpg

https://i779.photobucket.com/albums/yy77/Tabcon1/Crown-5.jpg

https://i779.photobucket.com/albums/yy77/Tabcon1/Crown-1.jpg

TR3driver
12-08-2009, 11:12 PM
Nope, doesn't look right to me. You should be able to see the contact in the center of the tooth, not at the edges. Looks to me like you need to move the ring gear closer to the pinion.
https://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh260/TR3driver/Stag%20diff/DSCF0065.jpg

Tabcon
12-08-2009, 11:50 PM
I've got 2 .010" shims under the main pinion bearing already. You think I need to go another .010"?

I'm going to try a different marker material. The liquid hobby paint I used was a little runny. I'll try some white lithium grease tomorrow as no one around these parts even knows what bluing is.

TR3driver
12-09-2009, 01:54 AM
I was thinking more of removing a shim from the pinion side of the carrier, and moving it to the gear side.

MMC has a warehouse in Atlanta. https://www.mcmaster.com/#contact/=4uovpa
If you order tonight & pay for 2-day shipping, you should have it Friday. Or, there is a Grainger office in downtown NO: