PDA

View Full Version : TR6 Rear wheel bearing help TR6

ichthos
12-13-2008, 06:56 PM
Hello,
Well, I started out thinking I would just be putting in new springs in the rear end, and I have ended up pretty much rebuilding the entire rear suspension at this point. The last thing for me to evaluate is the rear wheel bearings. How do you determine if they need replacing? They do seem to turn smoothly. How hard is it to replace the rear bearings? I am a novice - I replaced rear wheel bearings on a 65 Ford Falcon before, but everything on this car seems more difficult. Is this something a machine shop or mechanic should do? Any suggestions would greatly be appreciated.
Kevin

TR3driver
12-13-2008, 07:21 PM
IMO if they are smooth and have no play; leave them alone. Changing them is a LOT worse than your Falcon ... I wouldn't even trust a shop unless they had significant experience with TR4A-6 rear hubs AND could show me their purpose-made hub puller. The hubs have a "locking taper" fit to the stub axle, which can easily be so tight that just sticking them in a press will distort and ruin the hub. The proper puller supports the face of the hub so it can't distort.

poolboy
12-13-2008, 08:19 PM
What Randall said. I even bought the tool to break the hub down, thinking one day...one day I'd be faced with that task. The more I learned about it, though, I decided to pick up 2 hub assemblies, one from Ebay and the other from a 6-Pack member. Both seem ready to go. I may put the disassembly tool up for sale.

Norton47
12-14-2008, 10:09 AM
Kevin
I have a home built tool and have used it to rebuild both my rear axles. It is not a job for the fainthearted. I have unit I bought on ebay that is disassembled that I was going to rebuild then install and rebuild the one I took off. I ended up just rebuilding both of ones on the car as they were the original ones.
Heres 2 articles.