PDA

View Full Version : URGENT CALIFORNIA LEGISLATIVE UPDATE



bighly
06-18-2004, 08:32 AM
URGENT CALIFORNIA LEGISLATIVE UPDATE--IMMEDIATE ACTION REQUIRED
June 2004 - Hagerty Protection Network and SEMA


URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)

The Specialty Equipment and Manufacturers Association (SEMA) recently sent
the Hagerty Protection Network the following Legislative Alert to share with
our enthusiasts in California. If you have any questions regarding this
alert, please call or email Sydney McManus, Hagerty Protection Network
Legislative Director at 800-922-4050, x8787 / smmcanus@hagerty.com or Steve
McDonald, SEMA Senior Director of Government and Technical Affairs at
stevem@sema.org.

California Emissions Exemption Repeal Bill To Be Considered by Senate
Transportation Committee

We must double our efforts to contact the Senate Transportation Committee!
This may be our last chance! As you are aware, A.B. 2683, the California
legislation that would repeal the state's current rolling emissions test
exemption for vehicles 30 years old and older passed in the California
Assembly and will now be considered in the Senate. The bill would repeal
the current pro-hobbyist exemption and replace it with a law requiring the
permanent testing of all 1976 and newer model vehicles. A hearing in the
Senate will likely be scheduled for June 29th. Hagerty has sent a letter to
each Senate Transportation Committee member this week and will continue
efforts to see this bill defeated.

Contact members of the Senate Transportation Committee (List Attached)
Immediately to Request Their Opposition to A.B. 2683

Phone Calls Work Best!

Our arguments are the same:
Existing law in California exempts all vehicles 30-years old and older from
emissions testing.

California's current emissions testing exemption recognizes the minimal
impact of vehicles 30-years old and older on vehicle emissions and air
quality.

Vehicles 30-years old and older constitute a small portion of the overall
vehicle population and are a poor source from which to look for emissions
reduction.

Antique and classic vehicles are overwhelmingly well-maintained and
infrequently driven (about one-third the miles each year as a new vehicle).

Legislators and regulators are feeling the heat from a failed effort to meet
air quality goals and are looking for a convenient scapegoat. The old car
hobby should not carry the burden of their mistakes!
Act Now!

California Senate Transportation Committee

Senator Kevin Murray (Chair)
Phone: (916) 445-8800
Senator.murray@sen.ca.gov

Senator Tom McClintock (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (916) 445-8873
senator.mcclintock@sen.ca.gov

Senator Roy Ashburn
Phone: (916) 445-5405
senator.ashburn@sen.ca.gov

Senator James Brulte
Phone: (916) 445-3688
Senator.Brulte@sen.ca.gov

Senator Liz Figueroa
Phone: (916) 445-6671
Senator.Figueroa@sen.ca.gov

Senator Dean Florez
Phone: (916) 445-4641
Senator.florez@sen.ca.gov

Senator Betty Karnette
Phone: (916) 445-6447
Senator.karnette@sen.ca.gov
Senator Bill Morrow
Phone: (916) 445-3731
Senator.murrow@sen.ca.gov

Senator Don Perata
Phone: (916) 445-6577
Senator.Perata@sen.ca.gov

Senator Jack Scott
Phone: (916) 445-5976
senator.scott@sen.ca.gov
Senator Nell Soto
Phone: (916) 445-6868
Senator.soto@sen.ca.gov

Senator Jackie Speier
Phone: (916) 445-0503
Senator.speier@sen.ca.gov

Senator Tom Torlakson
Phone: (916) 445-6083
Senator.torlakson@sen.ca.gov



To find out who your own State Legislators are, visit the Hagerty Protection
Network website, Advocacy Avenue section at
https://www.hagerty.com/advocacy/adv_sections.asp?z=contact or by emailing or
calling Sydney McManus, Hagerty Protection Network Legislative Director, at
smcmanus@hagerty.com or 800-922-4050, x8787.

Please e-mail a copy of your letters to us at smcmanus@hagerty.com or fax:
231-932-6887.