View Full Version : Bargain for someone out West?

09-05-2008, 12:40 PM
I just saw this TR5 on Craigslist - seems like a pretty good deal for a rare car.


Of course, it could be a scam, with no pictures of the actual car, and a very low asking price. Still, just in case it's really a good deal, I thought I would point it out.


09-05-2008, 01:07 PM
WOW, this could be worth 3-4 times the asking price. Could be Mr. Scaminster though.

09-05-2008, 05:34 PM
Hi Folks,

If you read the fine print; It says: This car is a picture of one in mint condition. The car for sale is the same color!

Its "NOT" thee actual car for sale!


09-05-2008, 06:13 PM
Sure feels like a scam!

09-06-2008, 03:43 PM
I asked about availability and location as it says Graham Wa.
Very close to where I live. We will see!

09-06-2008, 04:25 PM
Although it's possible, I think Craigslist is a less likely environment for scammers to operate just because most of the transactions are person to person. In other words, you see the item for sale, but usually you go pay for it in person. That's just my opinion. But as with any purchase, buyer beware.

09-06-2008, 06:01 PM
I just sent him an "E" mail with a bunch of questions about the car. Will see if he answers and if he truly knows anything about the car ( most scammers don';t know the details)

09-06-2008, 07:48 PM
Mine came back undeliverable with the following message.

Sorry, but the craigslist user address you recently mailed (sale-828122606@craigslist.org) does not seem to be valid. It could be you're trying to respond to a very old posting, or that the user has not requested anonymous email forwarding. Please check the address and try again

09-06-2008, 08:23 PM
Yeah, looks like the ad was deleted. Seems as if he felt the heat rising!

09-06-2008, 09:34 PM
I just looked at the ad,(maybe it's back) But the price is now 10K. What did he have on it before?
He makes no indication of what the car is really like. just shows a pic of what it "would" be like if it were mint....hmmmmm

09-06-2008, 09:39 PM
Weird, I got the same response as Norton did when i E mailed the guy, then the ad was gone ( the one from LA) Now the ad is back again, out of Seattle area.....
E mailed him, but still no response........

09-06-2008, 10:40 PM
This really feels like a scam guys. Isn't this just how the TR3 Craigslist scam out of Texas went?

09-07-2008, 01:18 PM
I got a reply back and some photo's and a phone number. Says several people looking today. This is in my community so if someone is really interested. The car has sat for 22 years. Was running when parked. This is badged as overdrive and PI.
It looks like it would clean up but how much it would take I am not sure. He claims the dash needs work bu the rest of the car is sound.

09-07-2008, 01:27 PM
The deal is 10K or best offer and he's at 12.5K now.
Interior is out and most pieces around, engine was rebuilt with only 100 miles on it, but stuck tight now.
I think I will run over an see it just for the heck of it.
It's only about 2 miles from my house.

09-07-2008, 02:03 PM
This really feels like a scam guys. Isn't this just how the TR3 Craigslist scam out of Texas went?

Well, I've been wrong before. LOL.

09-07-2008, 04:08 PM
Yes, i got some pictures too, looks like the real thing to me as well. Even for 12.5 If it has all the bits and pieces and the body is not too rotted, might be a good deal.

Norton, only 2 miles from your house!!! Yes, go take a look for sure. If i was not stuck on Vancouver Island i would be over there in a flash!

09-11-2008, 12:00 PM
So, anybody here the lucky owner of the TR5?

09-14-2008, 04:15 PM
I went and took a look, there were several serious buyers by while i was there. Alas, to my eye, it was a very rough diamond.
It was all basically there and little or no rust. But it would be needed to be taken down to the smallest part and rebuilt back up to be worth what some have quoted. As the price was edging past 15K while I was there, it was beyond my modest means.
However it is a rare one.
Sad to see such a car so abused by lack of attention.