PDA

View Full Version : TR4/4A Pictures Needed Please - SU HS6 carbs on TR4a



kindofblue
03-21-2008, 03:55 PM
I am working on changing the carbs on my 4a. It has SU H6 from a TR4 on there now. I have the correct, rebuilt HS6s with some linkage pieces. I am ordering more of the linkages from Moss. What I don't have is what this mess is supposed to look like.

Can anyone post some pix of this. I can pm my private email if you can send them there. I need detail photos of the linkage between the two carbs. (springs, toggles, and whatnot)

Thanks for the help.

TR4nut
03-21-2008, 05:03 PM
I can't guarantee this as I have not run the carbs yet, but I think these linkage shots are correct. I bought an HS6 setup a while ago with the intent of switching my ZS carbs out at some point. If I missed something, just pm me and I can get another shot or two.

Shot 1 (https://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t145/deruiterville/TexasTR/IMG_2016.jpg)
Shot 2 (https://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t145/deruiterville/TexasTR/IMG_2017.jpg)
Shot 3 (https://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t145/deruiterville/TexasTR/IMG_2018.jpg)

Randy

kindofblue
03-23-2008, 11:37 AM
Thanks - the internet is an amazing place! ;-)

I see yours are already mounted to the intake manifold. Should I remove the manifold and assemble it all as one piece, or assemble carbs and linkage, and then install on manifold?

TR4nut
03-23-2008, 12:51 PM
Yer welcome! I don't see any reason to pull the intake, mine's that way only because I bought the whole setup in one piece.

Looks like the only potentially tricky place is perhaps mounting the return springs after assembly, but even that may not be necessary.

Randy

KVH
03-24-2008, 01:09 AM
I would not mount the carbs on the intake manifold first.

Others may have other experiences, but when I did that it sure seemed like a good idea. Simpler, more sensible.

The problem was that there was insufficient room between the cylinder head and the wheel well to accomplish the task. At least on my car the "bolt up distance" was just enough to make it impossible. I had to disassemble my nice neat job, and go one step at a time.

By the way, installing new bushings on the throttle shafts made a world of difference for smooth idling.

Good luck.

kindofblue
03-25-2008, 07:24 PM
Can you mount the assembled carbs and linkage on the intake? I hope you don't have to assemble the linkage on the car ;-(

I have idle problems and it runs rich. It also pings going up hills. This could be related, or it could be due lack of octane in gas. My car has a mild cam and a shaved cyl head.

Brosky
03-25-2008, 07:33 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:]Thanks - the internet is an amazing place! ;-)[/QUOTE]

With all due respect I think that the BCF Triumph Forum, is an amazing place! Fastest response time on the net'.

KVH
03-26-2008, 02:46 AM
Yes, once the intake manifold is on, you can assemble the linkage to the carbs and carefully slide everything into place.

I found it very tricky. One of the rods kept shifting or sliding. I had to be very steady. I felt like I needed three hands.

Actually, I think this is the only way to assemble the carbs--because the rods must be in place, in their slots, and they won't fit if the carbs are first put on the bolts.

Good luck.

kindofblue
03-26-2008, 08:27 AM
Where does the choke cable connect?

TR4nut
03-26-2008, 11:28 AM
Take a look at pic#2. Choke comes in from the top left dashpot (right in front of the Marvel Mystery Oil bottle).

It connects to the lower linkage right near that bottom nut holding the carb. It requires a small cable trunnion not shown in the pic to connect to linkage.

kindofblue
03-27-2008, 08:01 PM
Looks like my club is scheduling a tech session at my house to get the installed and tuned. That should be interesting!!!