PDA

View Full Version : How to change defaults



Tinster
02-12-2008, 05:30 PM
I installed Nero something or other and it installed Nero
Viewer as my photo default. Worthless to me.

How do I get my Adobe Photoshop back as my photo default?

Thanks as always from the stupid kid on the block.

dale

Steve_S
02-12-2008, 05:33 PM
Easiest way:

- Right click on photo
- Select "Open with"
- Select "Choose program"
- Check the box "Always use the selected program to open this type of file"
- Select Photoshop and click "OK".

Tinster
02-12-2008, 06:06 PM
Awesome Steve !! Instant fix.

Thanks ever so much.

I toiled for 2 hours trying to reset the default before
I asked for help.

d

DNK
02-12-2008, 11:08 PM
Dale, make sure you go into your start up menu and remove Nero from it.

Tinster
02-13-2008, 03:26 PM
Don,

I'm nearly as stupid with 'puters as I am with auto
mechanics!! But heck, I'm a master at cutting stone and
marble and not too shabby at fishin' !

Getting into my start-up menu was one of the tasks I was
attempting. But no luck finding it. I have a bunch of
worthless stuff that starts and then I close them down,
one by one.

Where do I find the start up manager program?

thanks,

dale

DNK
02-13-2008, 11:54 PM
Go to your start menu and type in msconfig and hit enter. It's the last tab.
A better way is to download the free Winpatrol. There is a screen that lets you know what each of the start up items are. It can be really confusing with those abbr.
Win patrol lets you know if anybody is trying to add programs and such. I'm sure Doc can tell you more about it.

Tinster
02-14-2008, 08:48 AM
Thanks Don !!

I downloaded the Winpatrol-

Got rid of many worthless programs including
that constant nag "Adobe update".

thanks, again

d