PDA

View Full Version : A few words about wiring.....

12-26-2007, 04:30 PM
Over the years, I have had some pretty bad experiences with trying to wire up accessories such as fog lights or electric fans. I remember buying from a big box automotive store a "universal fog light wiring harness" that was so poorly built with inferior wires, switches and relays that I almost torched my car. The wires to the lights got so hot that they burned through my harness bundle over which they laid. Then the whole aftermarket fog light harness went up in flames, literally. Had a similar experience with an aftermarket fan and the harness that was sold to go along with it. Enough! I finally got out Dan Masters' book on electricals and custom wired my Cibie fogs with superior-quality wires, connectors and relays and have had zero problems since. The electric fan route took down a similar path. Finally ended up with a Spal fan and Spal's super quality wiring harness for their fan. <<www.spalusa.com>

So, if you are attempting to add accessories, do it right and buy the good stuff. I went to a marine electrical supplier for all my wire and relays for the fogs and used Spal's stuff for the fan. And everything is connected with British Wiring bullet connectors!

Just my 2 cents.

Bugeye58
12-26-2007, 04:33 PM
Good advice, Bill. There is a lot of absolute crap being marketed, and it pays to go with the quality stuff. I've always gone slightly overkill on wiring, for that very reason.
Jeff

Tinster
12-26-2007, 05:03 PM
Bill ! /bcforum/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/iagree.gif

I purchased a set of "emergency" driving lights when I was
installing Dan Masters Power Block entire car wire harness.

Being a rookie, I would have installed those cheapa$$ wires
had I not been holding Dan's wires in my hands.

Now I keep a small supply of British Wiring bullet
connectors and premium grade wire for odds and ends.

d

2wrench
12-27-2007, 12:23 AM
Wiring is just another issue that I am hoping to deal