PDA

View Full Version : Leak finder?

Basil
09-24-2002, 10:33 AM
I have heard of a procedure in which you put some sort of dye in your oil and then after running the motor for a while, you use a black light under the car to figure out where leaks are happening. Has anyone ever tried this, and do you know what the dye is called? I have a leak in my Spitfire that the source is hard to pin down and I though this might help, but I have no experience with it.

Basil

aeronca65t
09-24-2002, 11:49 AM
Just a thought here...not sure this applies to you, but I'm guessing you have a modified crankcase vent system:

My 1500 Spridget motor (originally from a Spit), developed a leak I couldn't track down, even though the engine was completely rebuilt (new seals, gaskets and so forth). I re-did the pan gasket, valve cover gasket and a bunch of other stuff...no luck. While discussing it with a friend, he asked about my crankcase vent system.....my car has a non-stock carb setup and I've replaced the normal emissions crank vent with a simple homemade road-draft tube. Seems the 1500 really needs a bit of vacuum applied to it's crankcase or it'll blow oil out of the dipstick. I rigged my valve cover vent directly to the air filter, proving very light suction.....no more leaks!

lawguy
09-24-2002, 02:11 PM
^^^ that sounds like good advice.

Here is a site for a leak finder- https://www.jcwhitney.com/product.jhtml?CATID=180561&BQ=jcw2

martx-5
09-24-2002, 04:44 PM
What??? You're trying to fix oil leaks in a British car...My good man, don't you have any respect for TRADITION... graemlins/hammer.gif

Basil
09-26-2002, 09:49 AM
<blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><hr>Originally posted by aeronca65t:
Just a thought here...not sure this applies to you, but I'm guessing you have a modified crankcase vent system: