PDA

View Full Version : New member, a Brit resident in NC

ncbugeye
12-10-2006, 02:48 PM
Glad to be here. I am a Brit longtime resident in the US, have obviously loved British cars since I was a kid.

I was recently fortunate enough to become the owner of a 1958 Bugeye with the NC plate "BUGEYE". It is equipped with a 1275cc engine, electric fuel pump and front disc brakes from a later model, and electronic "pointless" ignition, but more or less everything else is as original, including positive earth electrics and the mechanical rev counter. It is in fairly good working order but needs to be driven a great deal more than it has been over the last few years. Fuel lines are clean, no sediment, engine compression is excellent, ignition timing tests OK, but it seems sluggish, as compared to my distant memory of what my Stage 2 tuned 850 Mini was like 35 years ago. I am looking for ideas as to what the problem might be. The fuel pump (SU AUF305) stalled on me the other day, but a sharp tap with a wrench fixed that. Any ideas? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/england.gif

tony barnhill
12-10-2006, 03:11 PM
Welcome - NC has some great roads to exercise it on!

Basil
12-10-2006, 04:22 PM
Welcome aboard! We have a number of "transplants" here. In fact, one of our moderators, Steve is an ex-Bobbi (I hope I spelled that right).

Cheers,
Basil

ncbugeye
12-10-2006, 04:53 PM
Actually he would have been a bobby, after Robert Peel who created the original police force. They were also nicknamed the "peelers" from the same origin.

ncbugeye
12-10-2006, 04:54 PM
I have tried to upload an avatar in the edit profile section but it won't let me... I get "cannot proceed, hit the back button" after I submit my profile change

Steve
12-10-2006, 09:58 PM