PDA

View Full Version : Temperature sending unit????



Kim de B
06-19-2002, 08:26 PM
Hmm. I've got a '66B. The temperature gauge wire is as you described (coiled, ridged springy thing) that should be permanently attached to the oil/temp gauge. It should run from the gauge through the firewall, make a loop or two, then run alongside the head and to the front (passenger side), where the sensor end (a permanently attached probe-type thing) screws in.

It is all one piece. To remove the gauge from the dash, you have to unscrew the sensor at the head and pull the whole dern thing back out through the firewall.

If this is broken or disconnected in any way, it's broken, and there's no replacing it. You have to buy a whole new combo gauge.

JordanB
06-20-2002, 03:58 AM
Is the temerature sensor on a '67 B just behind the waterpump on the passenger side(USA) of the block?
Now the line that comes from the temp guage connects to this, right? And it's a stiff, coil line covered in what looks like a spring, which runs along the bottom of the valve cover back to the fire wall.

Now my main question. How can I be getting a reading on my guage if this line isn't connected?
It rests on the end of the sensor, but no hard connection.
Any ideas?

mts3
06-21-2002, 07:50 PM
"Now my main question. How can I be getting a reading on my guage if this line isn't connected?
It rests on the end of the sensor, but no hard connection.
Any ideas?"

The temperature gauge is connected to a capillary tube filled with a fluid on MK1 MGBs and Midgets through 77. It's basically a real thermometer, not a resistance (electrical) type gauge. Therefore it will read even if it's just sitting out in the open.

Is yours not connected to the engine? Is something taking its place in the head?

Basil
06-21-2002, 08:02 PM
<blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><hr>Originally posted by mts3:
"Now my main question. How can I be getting a reading on my guage if this line isn't connected?
It rests on the end of the sensor, but no hard connection.
Any ideas?"

&lt;snip&gt;<hr></blockquote>

Just FYI, if you want to quote all or part of someone elses post, just click on the Reply with Quotes icone in the header of the message (looks like " " ). Then, start your message past the [/QUOTE] command. You can "snip" out any part of the person's post you are quoting which may not be relevant to what you are replying to. I know this has absolutely nothing to do with the topic of this message, but just a little tip I thought I'd toss out.

Basil