Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: What kind of paint....

What kind of paint....

So I started off to do the roll-on rustoleum paint job. I've ended up doing an almost nut and bolt resto. I've decided to spray it, what paint can I spray in my attached garage that won't kill my kids and/or get me banned from the house.

I was originally going to just use rustoleum thinned with odor-less mineral spirits, but I'd prefer something more durable if possible.

Any ideas?

Edit: After a few hours of reading, I think any paint that does not have an activator or hardener is safe to shoot at home. I'm leaning towards just using rustoleum thinned with mineral spirits. Temps in the Dallas area will be in the 90's by next month, should not have any issues with drying.

Edit 2: After a lot more reading (I travel for a living and spend a lot of nights in hotels), I've decided it is probably not practical to spray in in my environment. I have an attached garage with no windows. My garage door is on the rear of the house with the driveway sandwiched between the pool and a wooden fence. Even if i paint outside, I'm fearful of paint getting on my stuff or my neighbors stuff.

So, since I'm going to be rolling, I've narrowed the choices down to Rustoleum or Brightside. The costs between the two will be similar. Brightside is more per quart but will not need hardener, MS, and penetrol; Just the interlux thinner. I think Brightside will be tougher paint, but rustoleum comes in more colors.

If Rustoleum it will be Regal Red which is one shade darker than bright red. Brightside only has Fire Red, hard to tell what that is just looking online. I could do something crazy and use the Brightside YELLOW.
    Last edited by David_Doan; 04-18-2013 at 09:11 AM.
    David Doan - Frisco, TX
    david at doan.us
    http://doan.us/blog/

1959 Bugeye - AN5L-26655

Re: What kind of paint....

Look for a low VOC line.