• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Reaching Pete Delaney - Healey 5 Speed

HealeyBN7

Country flag
Need some help reaching Pete. Tried calling and sending emails, but I can't seem to make contact.

Here is the problem:

I have an older Smitty kit that I have been using for almost 10 years. I have consumed one W58 transmission, several clutch disks and two pilot bushing in the process. This is with all light driving of maybe 500 miles a year.

At first I thought it was just poor luck with the used transmission as it ate the input to main shaft bearing. With the transmission freshly rebuilt, it worked for several years then I broke a clutch disk. OK, more bad luck. Replaced the disk and machined a new pilot bearing and in less then two years the pilot bearing was worn and the center of the clutch disk had fractured.

We traced the problem to a misalignment of the bell housing to the back plate. The bell housing holes are not properly indexed to the center of the input shaft.

I would like to reach Pete to confirm the issue, share the measurements and pick up a replacement (if it is in fact a better fitment).