• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Tunebug exhaust question

drooartz

Staff member
Gold
Country flag
Okay -- I started playing with fitting the exhaust on the Tunebug today. I have a stainless system from APT that I bought when I bought the Maniflow header last winter. I'm not terribly pleased with it so far. It's set up to go over the back axle, but I'm not entirely sure it's the best solution. Seems it may hit my parking brake rods, and the muffler doesn't seem to line up properly with the mounting stud. (This is for a 1275 in a Bugeye.)

exhaust.jpg

I'm not even quite sure how it all mounts. This is a larger pipe, so I'll need new hangers. My questions are these:

1. How does the pipe mount towards the front of the car?

2. Should I just take the car to a muffler shop and have them make me a pipe to fit.

3. If yes to #2, what do I use for a muffler?

4. Is there something else I am missing here? I'm quite ready to believe operator error here. :smile:

smaceng

Jedi Knight
Country flag
Hi,
Not sure what version you have of the exhaust, but the stock version goes UNDER the rear axle. I would ask your vendor, David, if you have the correct item.
Scott in CA

Billm

Yoda
Country flag
If it's from APT I would trust it enough to at least try it as is- they have a pretty good rep.
BillM

MCS