• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

building a NHRA legal cage

tr8todd

Jedi Knight
A guy brought me a VW beetle that he wants to drag race. I have to build him a NHRA legal cage. He also wants a fuel cell, a seat installed and a laundry list of other things done. I have never built a drag racing cage before, so I spent a little time on the computer gathering info. My wife walked by and asked me "Why do you keep shaking your head and saying are you kidding me?". If any of you die hard SCCA and Vintage racers want a good laugh, spend a little time looking at what constitutes a drag racing cage. They have the same cage specs for every car regardless of the weight. They also encourage different tubing sizes for different bars. So I had to order up 100 feet(minimum order size) of 1.75X.120 tubing to install in Herbie the love bug. The last time I used tubing that big was on a GT1 car. At least it won't be me in the car going 140MPH, next to another guy doing 140MPH, in between two concrete walls!

tony barnhill

Great Pumpkin - R.I.P
Yeah, but they just go in a straight line for only 1/4 mile!

aeronca65t

Great Pumpkin
And someone told me they still allow ERW tubing (as opposed to the DOM that we have been using for some time now).