• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR2/3/3A Carb Jet

BillyB62

Jedi Trainee
Country flag
Ok, I'm at a loss. I've been fighting with my TR3 running very rich for several years with black smoke spewing from the tailpipe. After my Buddy made fun of me this weekend I've decided to do something about it. I had my carbs rebuilt by a carb shop several years ago but they leaked so I took them apart and did them myself. My problem was that I could screw them all the way lean and it didn't seem to matter. I thought I figured it out last night when I noticed the jet never came up even with the bridge so I took pulled one of the carbs today to see if I did something wrong because the top of the jet as always slightly below the bridge. If I remove the top copper washer, the jet comes even with the bridge....but that obviously isn't right. I've looked at hours of video on YouTube and from the attached picture, I see the top of this guys jet is even with the bridge. Am I doing something wrong?

Jet.jpg

Thanks in advance,

CJD

Yoda
Country flag
It should be pretty close. The choke also affects the level of the jet. Have you looked over the choke assembly to make sure it is not binding, sticking, mis adjusted or bent so as to hold the jet down?

Snowkilts

Jedi Hopeful
Country flag