• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Stag Stag automatic

Got_All_4

Luke Skywalker
Country flag
Been looking at a Stag that is in decent shape. Looking for a reason to just go get it but is't 5 hours away and I'm no Stag expert. Paint looks nice, all the parts are there, some surface rust but there in hole in the floor boards near the rubber plug. Under the rear seat looks good too. One of the reasons I'm even thinking of it is that it is automatic. Preparing for the future as these old bone and joints are failing. Also the wife would be more incline to drive it although she can drive a manual better then a lot of men.

Talking to my sometime Triumph mechanic who is just completing a mechanical Stag restoration he thought they were pretty robust trannys and built by I think he said Borg Warner and were used in Volvo's and other European cars at the time. So that is one of my questions. It is also a 3 speed gearbox and concerned about fuel millage as it will be my daily driver for retirement. Next is he thought there would be a lot of Volvo 4 speeds out there available for a swap and a up grade. The guy is asking $4700 for the car. What do you think?

TR3driver

Great Pumpkin - R.I.P