• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR4/4A Cam Timing with Head Still On HELP!

jeep937

I've been building motors for about 10 years. Mostly chevy stuff with a few model A Fords in there. I'm a bit gun shy in this situation because the 1965 TR4 ran stellar. I only pulled the motor to fix the oil leak and replace the clutch. I left the head on and pistons in. Had to pull the crank because of a broken dog bolt in the snout. It's all going back together now only I can't see to understand the marks and set up for putting the timing gears and chain all back in sync. It sees to say put the motor at top dead center (cotter key down) and the dot on the can gear at 11 o'clock. Well there's two dots. One on the gear and one on the front of the cam. They are in the same area but not real real close to each other. Maybe one at 11 and the other at 10:30.