PDA

View Full Version : building a NHRA legal cage

tr8todd
01-26-2007, 07:16 PM
A guy brought me a VW beetle that he wants to drag race. I have to build him a NHRA legal cage. He also wants a fuel cell, a seat installed and a laundry list of other things done. I have never built a drag racing cage before, so I spent a little time on the computer gathering info. My wife walked by and asked me "Why do you keep shaking your head and saying are you kidding me?". If any of you die hard SCCA and Vintage racers want a good laugh, spend a little time looking at what constitutes a drag racing cage. They have the same cage specs for every car regardless of the weight. They also encourage different tubing sizes for different bars. So I had to order up 100 feet(minimum order size) of 1.75X.120 tubing to install in Herbie the love bug. The last time I used tubing that big was on a GT1 car. At least it won't be me in the car going 140MPH, next to another guy doing 140MPH, in between two concrete walls!

tony barnhill
01-26-2007, 11:29 PM
Yeah, but they just go in a straight line for only 1/4 mile!

aeronca65t
01-27-2007, 07:09 AM
And someone told me they still allow ERW tubing (as opposed to the DOM that we have been using for some time now).

I have been looking at the $2007 Grassroots Challenge rules (because we are building a sub-$2000 car anyway and we're *thinking* about running it in this event). Grassroots lists the NHRA cage specs as a requirement. Our club racing cage is probably better, but doesn't use the "drain pipe" sizes of the NHRA specs. I'm sure GR would still let us run, but I did notice the tube sizes.

tr8todd
01-27-2007, 08:53 AM