PDA

View Full Version : Cable lube, tach ?



Chicago
02-02-2003, 10:02 PM
Working on the speedo and tach this winter.
1. Appears to a be a bronze colored lube on tach cable, believe it's the correct stuff to use (graphite based I think) just can't find any anywhere. anyone know of this stuff?

2.Replacing inner workings on tach, how much does one wind the spring attached to needle, just enuf for sufficient spring back or more complicated procedure?

TR3-2001SE
02-03-2003, 02:01 PM
On number 1 I have used powered grafite you can
find at ace hardware. Don't know on number 2

Steven
02-25-2003, 09:35 PM
I used powdered graphite, called cable lube, which i also got at Tru Value hardware. That was about 8 years ago when i replaced the tach cable, and its been great ever since. Just follow the Bently manual instructions on installation..its easy.... graemlins/thirsty.gif